Chief Executive Leadership Institute Honors Lester Crown with Lifetime of Leadership Award

June 3, 2021 – Lester Crown, President Emeritus of Henry Crown and Company, will today accept the Lifetime of Leadership Award from the Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute at the Yale and Mayors College CEO Virtual Summit. The Lifetime of Leadership Award will be presented to Mr. Crown by Walter Isaacson, former President and CEO, The Aspen Institute.

Summit organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, Senior Associate Dean for Leadership Studies at the Yale School of Management, commented:

“Lester Crown is one of the most revered corporate citizens across generations, states, industries and continents. He is a titan of the “greatest generation” of WWII business leaders. He has helped guide large companies and institutions through great transformations including: General Dynamics Corporation, Maytag, Alltel, The Aspen Institute, The Weizmann Institute of Science, Northwestern University, Ann & Robert H. Lure Children’s Hospital of Chicago, the Lyric Opera of Chicago, The Jerusalem Foundation and The Commercial Club of Chicago.

Longtime family friend Richard Edelman of Edelman Communications said:

“Lester is a unique force. Always a role model for me growing up in Chicago. He was generous to his city and the Jewish community. He was a power broker in a city of power. He transformed a building materials company into a global powerhouse by investing in General Dynamics. He passed the business on to his son Jim while keeping his hand day to day. He is quite simply America’s best as an entrepreneur, father, and philanthropist.

The Lifetime of Leadership Award celebrates transformational leaders whose character and sustained contribution spans industries, decades and generations with wise ambassadorial service, mentorship powerfully contributing to improved business performance, economic growth, creativity , community vitality, human understanding, national and global strength reports. Previous recipients are: Carla A. Hills, US Trade Representative (1989-1993) and 5th US Secretary of Housing and Urban Development; Andrew J. Young, mayor (1982-1990), Atlanta, Georgia; United States Ambassador to the United Nations (1977-1979); Farooq Kathwari CEO, Ethan Allen; David Stern, Commissioner Emeritus, National Basketball Association; Maurice R. Greenberg, Chairman and CEO, CV Starr & Co.; John Whitehead, Co-Chairman (1976-1985), Goldman Sachs; and Al Gordon, Honorary Chairman, Kidder, Peabody & Co.

The theme of the summit is The Ins and Outs of Infrastructure: Go from here to there. A conversation with 60 mayors from medium to large cities will kick off the summit, followed by a lively and candid discussion with distinguished global business leaders from all sectors for the latest CEO summit held remotely on Zoom.

Former CEO of the Aspen Institute, former CEO of CNN and successful biographer Walter Isaacson will present the award. Also in attendance will be US Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg, Anne Neuberger, Deputy National Security Advisor, Cyber ​​& Emerging Tech, National Security Council; and CEOs and Presidents of companies such as: General Motors; Goldman Sachs; American airlines; Delta Airlines; IBM; Deloitte; Hyundai; AMD; Freeport-McMoRan; eBay; Royal of the Caribbean; Stanley Black & Decker; Snap-on; Lowes Hotels; Good year; Photocopy; and Hewlett Packard Enterprise. A full list of participants for the CEO Summit and College of Mayors is available online.

Conference partners include AccuWeather, Deloitte, Evercore, Gladstone Place Partners, IBM, IEX, Korn Ferry, The Stagwell Group and UPS.

Comments are closed.